By Yana KrasnolutskaThu. 27 Jun. 20243min Read

Full Collection: The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan Books in Order

Check out our guide to The Wheel of Time series, detailing the proper reading order of all the books. Ideal for new readers and longtime fans alike.
Full Collection: The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan Books in Order

I'm an avid reader of epic fantasy, and Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time series holds a special place in my heart. Given its intricate plot and numerous characters, I thought it would be helpful to provide a chronological list of all the books in the series, so you can embark on this epic journey in the right order.

Jordan's monumental series spans fourteen books, beginning with "The Eye of the World" and culminating in "A Memory of Light". Check out the complete list below!

The Wheel of Time Books in Order

The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan is a high fantasy epic consisting of 15 books. It follows the journey of Rand al'Thor, a young man destined to battle the Dark One and save the world. The series is known for its intricate plot, detailed world-building, and a large cast of characters. Themes of destiny, power, and the struggle between good and evil are central to the story.

After Jordan's death in 2007, the series was completed by Brandon Sanderson using Jordan's notes. The books have a significant following and have been adapted into a TV series.

image inspired by The Wheel of Time Books 

New Spring (The Wheel of Time, #0)

New Spring is a prequel to The Wheel of Time series. It focuses on the early lives of Moiraine Damodred and Lan Mandragoran. The story begins during the Aiel War and follows Moiraine as she becomes an Aes Sedai and learns of the prophecy of the Dragon Reborn. Alongside her, Lan grapples with his destiny as the uncrowned king of the fallen kingdom of Malkier. Their paths converge as they form a bond and begin their quest to find and protect the Dragon Reborn, setting the stage for the events of the main series.


The Eye of the World (The Wheel of Time, #1)


The series begins with Rand al'Thor and his friends, Mat and Perrin, being pursued by dark forces. They are guided by the mysterious Moiraine and her Warder, Lan, who believe Rand is the Dragon Reborn, destined to fight the Dark One. Their journey takes them through various dangers and revelations about their true identities and destinies.


The Great Hunt (The Wheel of Time, #2)


Rand continues his journey to accept his role as the Dragon Reborn. He embarks on a quest to retrieve the powerful artifact, the Horn of Valere, which can summon heroes from the past. Alongside this, the Seanchan, a powerful and enigmatic invading force, make their presence known.

The Dragon Reborn (The Wheel of Time, #3)


Rand comes to grips with his destiny and proclaims himself the Dragon Reborn. He travels to the Stone of Tear, where he must claim the powerful sword Callandor to prove his identity. His friends also face their own challenges, growing stronger and more independent.


The Shadow Rising (The Wheel of Time, #4)


Rand consolidates power and heads to the Aiel Waste to learn more about his heritage. The Forsaken, powerful dark allies of the Dark One, become more active, causing turmoil across the lands. Perrin returns to the Two Rivers to defend it from invaders, showcasing his leadership and connection to wolves.


The Fires of Heaven (The Wheel of Time, #5)


Rand battles the Forsaken Rahvin and strengthens his alliances. The Aiel follow him into battle, and he confronts his destiny head-on. Meanwhile, Nynaeve and Elayne pursue their own missions, uncovering plots within the White Tower and encountering the dangerous Moghedien.


Lord of Chaos (The Wheel of Time, #6)


Rand deals with political intrigue and growing opposition from various factions. He is captured and later rescued in a massive battle at Dumai’s Wells, where the true power of the Asha'man, male channelers trained by Rand, is revealed.


A Crown of Swords (The Wheel of Time, #7)


Rand focuses on consolidating his rule and dealing with the Seanchan threat. Mat becomes more entangled in his own destiny, leading to critical confrontations. Egwene rises in power among the rebel Aes Sedai, seeking to unite the White Tower.


The Path of Daggers (The Wheel of Time, #8)


Rand faces challenges in his quest to cleanse the world of the Dark One's taint. The Seanchan continue their invasion, posing a significant threat. The Aes Sedai struggle with internal divisions, and Perrin searches for his kidnapped wife, Faile.

Winter's Heart (The Wheel of Time, #9)


Rand undertakes the perilous task of cleansing saidin, the male half of the One Power, of the Dark One’s taint. This monumental task has far-reaching consequences. Mat encounters the Daughter of the Nine Moons, tying into prophecies about his future.


Crossroads of Twilight (The Wheel of Time, #10)


The world deals with the aftermath of Rand's cleansing of saidin. Various characters grapple with political and personal challenges, setting the stage for the series' climactic events. Egwene continues her campaign to reunite the Aes Sedai.


Knife of Dreams (The Wheel of Time, #11)


Rand faces increasing opposition and danger as he prepares for the Last Battle. Perrin rescues Faile, and Mat's story intertwines further with the Seanchan. The world edges closer to the final confrontation with the Dark One.


The Gathering Storm (The Wheel of Time, #12)


Rand becomes more hardened and ruthless as he prepares for the Last Battle. Egwene faces a major conflict within the White Tower. The book, co-written by Brandon Sanderson, begins to draw the numerous plotlines toward their conclusion.


Towers of Midnight (The Wheel of Time, #13)


Rand's allies prepare for the Last Battle, and Perrin confronts his inner struggles. Mat ventures into the Tower of Ghenjei to rescue Moiraine. The pieces move into place for the final showdown with the Dark One.


A Memory of Light (The Wheel of Time, #14)


The series concludes with the Last Battle, a massive and decisive confrontation between the forces of Light and the Dark One. Rand faces his ultimate challenge, and the fates of all characters are resolved. The book brings closure to the epic saga, fulfilling prophecies and long-awaited resolutions.

How to Read The Wheel of Time Books on PDF

Now that you're ready to explore the epic world of The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan, you'll need a versatile app to enhance your reading experience. PDF Reader Pro is an easy-to-use and customizable PDF reading app. It lets you annotate, edit, and share your Wheel of Time PDFs with complete freedom and personalization. 


Get Started with PDF Reader Pro Today!

Enjoy the seamless features and make your journey through this legendary series even more immersive.

Was this article helpful for you?
Get Started with PDF Reader Pro Today!